SPECIAL SESSION

THIRTEENTH DAY

St. Paul, Minnesota, Thursday, June 23, 2005

The Senate met at 10:00 a.m. and was called to order by the President.

CALL OF THE SENATE

Senator Johnson, D.E. imposed a call of the Senate. The Sergeant at Arms was instructed to bring in the absent members.

Prayer was offered by Senator Gary W. Kubly.

The roll was called, and the following Senators answered to their names:

Anderson	Frederickson	Kubly	Neuville	Sams
Bachmann	Gaither	Langseth	Nienow	Saxhaug
Bakk	Gerlach	LeClair	Olson	Senjem
Belanger	Hann	Limmer	Ortman	Skoe
Berglin	Higgins	Lourey	Ourada	Skoglund
Betzold	Hottinger	Marko	Pariseau	Solon
Chaudhary	Johnson, D.E.	Marty	Pogemiller	Sparks
Cohen	Jungbauer	McGinn	Ranum	Stumpf
Day	Kelley	Metzen	Reiter	Tomassoni
Dibble	Kierlin	Michel	Rest	Vickerman
Fischbach	Kleis	Moua	Robling	Wergin
Foley	Koering	Murphy	Ruud	Wiger

The President declared a quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal, as printed and corrected, was approved.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Senator Murphy moved that the name of Senator Hottinger be added as a co-author to S.F. No. 42. The motion prevailed.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS

The following bills were read the first time and referred to the committees indicated.

Senators Vickerman, Frederickson, Sams, Bakk and Skoe introduced--

S.F. No. 69: A bill for an act relating to natural resources; establishing a Minnesota future resources fund; imposing a cigarette fee to fund natural resources acceleration; amending

JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 325D.32, subdivision 9; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 116P.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senators Anderson, Neuville, Hottinger and Vickerman introduced--

S.F. No. 70: A bill for an act relating to state government; providing a process for community ownership of the Minnesota Twins; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 4B.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Larson introduced--

S.F. No. 71: A bill for an act relating to state government; authorizing the State Lottery to lease space for and operate a casino in the main terminal of the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 349A.01, by adding a subdivision; 349A.10, subdivisions 2, 3, 5; 349A.11, subdivision 1; 541.20; 541.21; 609.75, subdivision 3; 609.761, subdivision 2; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 349A.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senators Rest and Larson introduced--

S.F. No. 72: A resolution memorializing the United States Secretary of State to refer the Devil's Lake outlet to the International Joint Commission.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Hottinger introduced--

S.F. No. 73: A bill for an act relating to education finance; requiring the commissioner of education to conduct a study on the effect of property tax payments on charter school finances; requiring a report.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senators McGinn and Metzen introduced--

S.F. No. 74: A bill for an act relating to transportation; requiring Department of Transportation and Metropolitan Council to conduct study of bus rapid transit on the transportation corridor between Eagan and St. Paul.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Skoglund introduced--

S.F. No. 75: A bill for an act relating to government operations; authorizing the governor to continue certain governmental operations.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

MEMBERS EXCUSED

Senators Dille; Johnson, D.J.; Kiscaden; Larson; Pappas; Rosen and Scheid were excused from the Session of today.

ADJOURNMENT

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 12:00 noon, Monday, June 27, 2005.

The question was taken on the adoption of the motion.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 33 and nays 22, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Bakk Belanger Berglin Betzold Chaudhary Cohen Dibble	Foley Higgins Hottinger Johnson, D.E. Kelley Kierlin Kubly	Langseth Lourey Marko Marty Metzen Moua Murphy	Pogemiller Ranum Sams Saxhaug Skoe Skoglund Solon	Sparks Stumpf Tomassoni Vickerman Wiger		
Those who voted in the negative were:						
Day Fischbach Gaither Gerlach Hann	Jungbauer Kleis Koering LeClair Limmer	McGinn Michel Nienow Olson Ortman	Ourada Pariseau Reiter Robling Ruud	Senjem Wergin		

The motion prevailed. So the Senate was adjourned.

Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate

INDEX TO DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, June 23, 2005

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

S.F. Nos. Page 4243

H.F. Nos. Page

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS

S.F. Nos. 69 to 75 Pages 43 to 44

JOURNAL OF THE SENATE