## SPECIAL SESSION

#### NINETEENTH DAY

St. Paul, Minnesota, Saturday, July 2, 2005

The Senate met at 9:00 a.m. and was called to order by the President.

### **CALL OF THE SENATE**

Senator Johnson, D.E. imposed a call of the Senate. The Sergeant at Arms was instructed to bring in the absent members.

Prayer was offered by the Chaplain, Rev. Kisten H. Thompson.

The roll was called, and the following Senators answered to their names:

Anderson	Foley	Kubly	Nienow	Saxhaug
Bachmann	Frederickson	Langseth	Olson	Scheid
Bakk	Gaither	LeClair	Ourada	Senjem
Belanger	Gerlach	Limmer	Pariseau	Skoe
Berglin	Hann	Lourey	Pogemiller	Skoglund
Betzold	Higgins	Marko	Ranum	Solon
Chaudhary	Hottinger	Marty	Reiter	Sparks
Cohen	Johnson, D.E.	McGinn	Rest	Stumpf
Day	Jungbauer	Metzen	Robling	Tomassoni
Dibble	Kelley	Michel	Rosen	Vickerman
Dille	Kiscaden	Moua	Ruud	Wergin
Fischbach	Kleis	Murphy	Sams	Wiger

The President declared a quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal, as printed and corrected, was approved.

Pursuant to Article IV, Section 11 of the Constitution of the State of Minnesota, Senator Nienow and other members presented a Protest and Dissent to be entered in the Journal.

The President ruled that the Protest and Dissent was not in order in that it did not meet the requirements of Article IV, Section 11 of the Constitution of the State of Minnesota.

Senator Nienow appealed the decision of the President.

### CALL OF THE SENATE

Senator Nienow imposed a call of the Senate for the balance of the proceedings on the Appeal. The Sergeant at Arms was instructed to bring in the absent members.

The question was taken on "Shall the decision of the President be the judgment of the Senate?"

Senator Betzold moved that those not voting be excused from voting. The motion prevailed.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 32 and nays 24, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson Bakk Berglin Betzold Cohen Dibble Foley	Higgins Johnson, D.E. Kelley Kiscaden Kubly Langseth Lourey	Marko Marty Metzen Moua Pogemiller Ranum Rest	Sams Saxhaug Scheid Skoe Skoglund Solon Sparks	Stumpf Tomassoni Vickerman Wiger
Those who voted	l in the negative were	e:		
Bachmann Belanger Dille Fischbach Frederickson	Gaither Gerlach Hann Jungbauer Kleis	LeClair Limmer McGinn Michel Nienow	Olson Ourada Pariseau Reiter Robling	Rosen Ruud Senjem Wergin

So the decision of the President was sustained.

### RECESS

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved that the Senate do now recess until 11:30 a.m. The motion prevailed.

The hour of 11:30 a.m. having arrived, the President called the Senate to order.

#### CALL OF THE SENATE

Senator Johnson, D.E. imposed a call of the Senate. The Sergeant at Arms was instructed to bring in the absent members.

#### MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Rule 26, Senator Johnson, D.E., Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration, designated S.F. No. 88 a Special Order to be heard immediately.

#### SPECIAL ORDER

**S.F. No. 88:** A bill for an act relating to appropriations; appropriating money for continued, temporary operation of state government.

#### **CALL OF THE SENATE**

Senator Kubly imposed a call of the Senate for the balance of the proceedings on S.F. No. 88. The Sergeant at Arms was instructed to bring in the absent members.

S.F. No. 88 was read the third time and placed on its final passage.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill.

Senator Betzold moved that those not voting be excused from voting. The motion prevailed.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 36 and nays 22, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

586

Day

Fischbach

Frederickson

Robling

Rosen

Ruud

Anderson Bakk Berglin Betzold Chaudhary Cohen Dibble Dille Those who voted	Foley Higgins Hottinger Johnson, D.E. Kelley Kiscaden Kubly Langseth I in the negative wer	Lourey Marko Marty Metzen Moua Murphy Pogemiller Ranum re:	Rest Sams Saxhaug Scheid Skoe Skoglund Solon Sparks	Stumpf Tomassoni Vickerman Wiger
Bachmann	Gerlach	Limmer	Pariseau	Senjem
Belanger	Hann	McGinn	Reiter	Wergin

So the bill passed and its title was agreed to.

Jungbauer

Kleis

LeClair

#### INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS

The following bill was read the first time and referred to the committee indicated.

Michel

Nienow

Ourada

#### Senator Limmer introduced--

S.F. No. 98: A bill for an act relating to health; providing an exception to the hospital construction moratorium; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144.551, subdivision 1.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

#### **MEMBERS EXCUSED**

Senators Johnson, D.J.; Kierlin; Koering; Larson; Neuville; Ortman and Pappas were excused from the Session of today. Senator Moua was excused from the Session of today from 9:00 to 9:20 a.m. Senators Chaudhary, Hottinger and Murphy were excused from the Session of today from 9:00 to 9:25 a.m. Senators Gaither and Olson were excused from the Session of today at 11:30 a.m.

#### ADJOURNMENT

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 1:00 p.m., Tuesday, July 5, 2005.

The question was taken on the adoption of the motion.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 32 and nays 22, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Bakk Belanger Berglin Betzold Dille Foley	Higgins Hottinger Johnson, D.E. Kelley Kiscaden Kubly	Lourey Marko Marty Metzen Moua Murphy	Ranum Rest Saxhaug Scheid Skoe Skoglund	Sparks Stumpf Tomassoni Vickerman
2	<b>v</b> .			
Frederickson	Langseth	Pogemiller	Solon	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Reiter Rosen Senjem Wergin Wiger Robling

The motion prevailed. So the Senate was adjourned.

Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate

# **INDEX TO DAILY JOURNAL**

Saturday, July 2, 2005

## SPECIAL ORDERS

S.F. Nos. Page 88 ......586 H.F. Nos. Page

# INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS

S.F. No. 98 ..... Page 587

# JOURNAL OF THE SENATE