SPECIAL SESSION

TWENTIETH DAY

St. Paul, Minnesota, Tuesday, July 5, 2005

The Senate met at 1:00 p.m. and was called to order by the President.

CALL OF THE SENATE

Senator Johnson, D.E. imposed a call of the Senate. The Sergeant at Arms was instructed to bring in the absent members.

Prayer was offered by the Chaplain, Lt. Col. Rob Lubben.

The members of the Senate gave the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was called, and the following Senators answered to their names:

Anderson Bakk	Frederickson Gaither	Koering Kubly
Belanger Berglin	Hann Higgins	Langseth Larson
Betzold	Hottinger	LeClair
Chaudhary	Johnson, D.E.	Lourey
Cohen	Jungbauer	Marko
Day	Kelley	Marty
Dibble	Kierlin	McGinn
Dille	Kiscaden	Metzen
Fischbach	Kleis	Michel

Scheid Skoe Skoglund Solon Sparks Stumpf Tomassoni Vickerman Wergin Wiger

Saxhaug

Moua

Murphy Nienow

Ortman

Pariseau

Ranum

Reiter

Rest Robling

Ruud

Sams

The President declared a quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal, as printed and corrected, was approved.

EXECUTIVE AND OFFICIAL COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were received.

June 30, 2005

The Honorable James P. Metzen President of the Senate

Re: Special Session Chapter 1 - Statement of Item Veto

Dear President Metzen:

I am pleased to announce that I have approved and signed into law Senate File 69 relating to agriculture, the environment, natural resources and economic development. With this action,

Minnesota's state park system and historic sites will remain open, our environment and natural resources will be improved and economic interests advanced.

However, in accordance with Article IV, Section 23 of the Minnesota Constitution, this letter shall serve as a statement of the items of appropriation that I have vetoed. I have also marked the vetoed provisions on the bill.

For appropriations made from the Environment and Natural Resource Trust Fund, several primary factors have guided my decisions. Ideally, projects should be faithful to Article XI, Section 14 of the Minnesota Constitution which states, "The assets of the fund shall be appropriated by law for the public purpose of protection, conservation, preservation, and enhancement of the state's air, water, land, fish, wildlife, and other natural resources." Likewise, projects should be consistent with a long-term strategic plan and developed with maximum input from citizen experts in the outdoors.

Based on these factors, the following appropriations contained in Article 2 of Senate File 69 are vetoed:

Page 87, lines 41-53;

Page 97, lines 17-32;

Page 98, lines 16-23;

Page 103, lines 45-59;

Page 103, lines 60-63 and page 104, lines 1-11;

Page 105, lines 42-50;

Page 106, lines 46-55;

Page 108, lines 49-61 and page 109, line 1;

Page 109, lines 50-59 and page 110, lines 1-4;

Page 110, lines 5-13;

Page 110, lines 17-30;

Page 110, lines 49-56.

Further, I am grateful that the Legislature has chosen to join me in a serious effort to reform the Minnesota's governance model for our great outdoors. Because of this commitment, I believe the second year administrative costs for the Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources is premature. Therefore, I have vetoed the following:

The \$450,000 for the second year, by deleting "and \$450,000 the second year" on page 93, lines 40-41.

As to the economic development appropriations in Article 3 of Senate File 69, at a time of tight budgetary constraints, it is essential that the state exercise fiscal prudence. The vetoed appropriations identified below either do not support our highest priority core economic development and job training programs or duplicate the efforts of existing economic development programs, or are programs that receive substantial funding from other sources. For example, the appropriations for the Minnesota Opportunities Industrialization Centers in Minneapolis and Bemidji duplicate training already provided by other programs funded by DEED. These strategic vetoes will enable the Department of Employment and Economic Development to better allocate its resources to fulfill its core mission.

Based on these factors, the following appropriations contained in Article 3 of Senate File 69 are vetoed:

Page 221, lines 30-36;

Page 222, lines 49-61 and page 223, lines 1-5;

The two appropriations of \$1,069,000 from the general fund set forth on page 223, lines 36-38;

Page 223, lines 46-50;

Page 224, lines 12-16;

Page 224, lines 17-25;

Page 225, lines 42-46.

Sincerely, Tim Pawlenty, Governor

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved that the line item veto message on S.F. No. 69 be laid on the table. The motion prevailed.

June 30, 2005

The Honorable Steve Sviggum Speaker of the House of Representatives

The Honorable James P. Metzen President of the Senate

I have the honor to inform you that the following enrolled Act of the 2005 First Special Session of the State Legislature has been received from the Office of the Governor and is deposited in the Office of the Secretary of State for preservation, pursuant to the State Constitution, Article IV, Section 23:

S.F. No.	H.F. No.	First Special Session Laws Chapter No.	Time and Date Approved 2005	Date Filed 2005
69 *Chapter 1 wi	th the except	*1 ion of line item vetoes.	9:10 p.m. June 30	June 30

Sincerely, Mary Kiffmeyer Secretary of State

MEMBERS EXCUSED

Senators Bachmann; Foley; Gerlach; Johnson, D.J.; Limmer; Neuville; Olson; Ourada; Pappas; Pogemiller; Rosen and Senjem were excused from the Session of today.

ADJOURNMENT

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 1:00 p.m., Thursday, July 7, 2005.

The question was taken on the adoption of the motion.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 31 and nays 22, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

Anderson Bakk Belanger Berglin Betzold Chaudhary Cohen	Dibble Frederickson Higgins Hottinger Johnson, D.E. Kierlin Kiscaden	Kubly Langseth Lourey Marko Marty Metzen Moua	Murphy Ranum Sams Saxhaug Scheid Skoe Skoglund	Stumpf Tomassoni Vickerman
Those who voted	in the negative were			
Dille Fischbach Gaither Hann Jungbauer	Kelley Kleis Koering Larson LeClair	McGinn Michel Nienow Ortman Pariseau	Reiter Robling Ruud Solon Sparks	Wergin Wiger

The motion prevailed. So the Senate was adjourned.

Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate

INDEX TO DAILY JOURNAL

Tuesday, July 5, 2005

EXECUTIVE AND OFFICIAL COMMUNICATIONS

Pages 589 to 592

CHAPTER LAWS

S.F. Nos.	H.F. Nos.	Session Laws Chapter No.	Page
69 1		1	

JOURNAL OF THE SENATE