JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

EIGHTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE

2006

Published by The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The 2006 Session of the Eighty-Fourth Legislature convened on March 1 with the same leadership elected in the 2005 Session.

Senator Dean E. Johnson (DFL), Willmar, continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Dick Day (R), Owatonna, continued as Minority Leader.

Senator James P. Metzen (DFL), South St. Paul, continued as President of the Senate.

Senator David Gaither (R), Plymouth, resigned September 21, 2005, to become Governor Tim Pawlenty's Chief of Staff. Terri Bonoff (DFL), Minnetonka, won a special election on November 22, 2005, to fill the vacancy in Senate District 43. She was sworn in on December 7, 2005.

Senator Mark Ourada (R), Buffalo, resigned effective December 31, 2005, for private sector employment. Amy Koch (R), Buffalo, won a special election on November 22, 2005, to fill the vacancy in Senate District 19. She was sworn in on January 5, 2006.

Senator Dave Kleis (R), St. Cloud, resigned November 20, 2005, after being elected Mayor of St. Cloud. Tarryl Clark (DFL), St. Cloud, won a special election on December 27, 2005, to fill the vacancy in Senate District 15. She was sworn in on January 6, 2006.

Senator Sheila M. Kiscaden left the Independence Party and joined the DFL caucus for the 2006 session.

The political makeup of the 2006 Senate was 38 DFLers and 29 Republicans.

Nine Senators announced they would not seek reelection in 2006. They were Michele M. Bachmann (R), Stillwater; John C. Hottinger (DFL), Mankato; Steve P. Kelley (DFL), Hopkins; Bob Kierlin (R), Winona; Sheila M. Kiscaden (DFL), Rochester; Becky Lourey (DFL), Kerrick; Sharon Marko (DFL), Cottage Grove; Jane B. Ranum (DFL), Minneapolis and Wesley J. Skoglund (DFL), Minneapolis.

The 2006 Session of the Eighty-Fourth Legislature adjourned sine die on Sunday evening, May 21, 2006.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Ellen R. (DFL)* Bachmann, Michele M. (R)** Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL) Belanger Jr., William V. (R) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Betzold, Don (DFL) Bonoff, Terri (DFL) Chaudhary, Satveer (DFL) Clark, Tarryl (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Day, Dick (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dille, Steve (R) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Foley, Leo T. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (R) Gerlach, Chris (R) Hann, David (R) Higgins, Linda (DFL) Hottinger, John C. (DFL) Johnson, Dean E. (DFL) Johnson, Debbie J. (R) Jungbauer, Michael J. (R) Kelley, Steve P. (DFL) Kierlin, Bob (R) Kiscaden, Sheila M. (DFL) Koch, Amy (R) Koering, Paul (R) Kubly, Gary W. (DFL) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Larson, Cal (R) LeClair, Brian (R) Limmer, Warren (R) Lourey, Becky (DFL)

*DFL–Democratic-Farmer-Labor **R–Republican

Senate Leaders

Dean E. Johnson Ann H. Rest Satveer Chaudhary Linda Higgins Steve P. Kelley Mee Moua Steve Murphy David J. Tomassoni Jim Vickerman Dick Dav Thomas M. Neuville Warren Limmer Mike McGinn Geoff Michel Pat Pariseau Claire A. Robling

Marko, Sharon (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) McGinn, Mike (R) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Michel, Geoff (R) Moua, Mee (DFL) Murphy, Steve (DFL) Neuville, Thomas M. (R) Nienow, Sean (R) Olson, Gen (R) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pariseau, Pat (R) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Ranum, Jane B. (DFL) Reiter, Mady (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Robling, Claire A. (R) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Ruud, Carrie (R) Sams, Dallas C. (DFL) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scheid, Linda (DFL) Senjem, David H. (Ŕ) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Skoglund, Wesley J. (DFL) Solon, Yvonne Prettner (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Vickerman, Jim (DFL) Wergin, Betsy (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Minority Leader Deputy Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

James P. Metzen Patrick E. Flahaven Patrice Dworak Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Catherine E. Morrison Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Lt. Col. Rev. Rob Lubben President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain