JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

EIGHTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE

2008

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The 2008 Session of the Eighty-Fifth Legislature convened February 12 with the same leadership elected in the 2007 session, and one newly elected Senator.

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller (DFL), Minneapolis, continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator David H. Senjem (R), Rochester, continued as Minority Leader.

Senator James P. Metzen (DFL), South St. Paul, continued as President of the Senate.

Senator Thomas M. Neuville (R), Northfield, resigned effective January 1, 2008, after being appointed by Governor Tim Pawlenty as a Minnesota District Court judge in the Third Judicial District. Kevin L. Dahle (DFL), Northfield, won a special election on January 3, 2008, to fill the vacancy in Senate District 25. He was sworn in on January 22, 2008.

The political makeup of the 2008 Senate was 45 DFLers, and 22 Republicans.

Patrice M. Dworak, the First Assistant Secretary, retired during the 2008 Session with over 35 years of Senate service.

The Eighty-Fifth Legislature adjourned the session sine die on Sunday evening, May 18, 2008, which was the 119th Legislative Day.

Senator Betsy L. Wergin (R), Princeton, resigned effective August 1, 2008, after being appointed to the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission by Governor Pawlenty. A special election was called for November 4, 2008, to fill the vacancy in District 16.

Senator Dan Larson (DFL), Bloomington, resigned effective November 5, 2008, to return to private employment. A special election was called for November 4, 2008, to fill the vacancy in District 63.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Ellen R. (DFL)* Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Betzold, Don (DFL) Bonoff, Terri (DFL) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chaudhary, Satveer (DFL) Clark, Tarryl L. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahle, Kevin L. (DFL) Day, Dick (R)** Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dille, Steve (R) Doll, John (DFL) Erickson Ropes, Sharon (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Foley, Leo T. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (R) Gerlach, Chris (R) Gimse, Joseph R. (R) Hann, David (R) Higgins, Linda (DFL) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Johnson, Debbie J. (R) Jungbauer, Michael J. (R) Koch, Amy T. (R) Koering, Paul E. (R) Kubly, Gary W. (DFL) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Larson, Daniel G. (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren (R) Lourey, Tony (DFL) Lynch, Ann (DFL)

Marty, John (DFL) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Michel, Geoff (R) Moua, Mee (DFL) Murphy, Steve (DFL) Olseen, Rick (DFL) Olson, Gen (R) Olson, Mary (DFL) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pariseau, Pat (R) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Prettner Solon, Yvonne (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Robling, Claire A. (R) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rummel, Sandy (DFL) Saltzman, Kathy (DFL) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scheid, Linda (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Skogen, Dan (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Vandeveer, Ray (R) Vickerman, Jim (DFL) Wergin, Betsy L. (R)

*DFL–Democratic-Farmer-Labor **R–Republican

Senate Leaders

Lawrence J. Pogemiller Tarryl L. Clark Ron Latz Kathy Saltzman Tom Saxhaug Kathy Sheran Dan Skogen Patricia Torres Ray

David H. Senjem Betsy L. Wergin Michelle L. Fischbach Joseph R. Gimse David Hann Amy T. Koch Geoff Michel Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip

Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

Minority Leader Deputy Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

James P. Metzen Patrick E. Flahaven Patrice Dworak Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Kevin McDonough President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain