JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

EIGHTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE

2009

Published By The Secretary of the Senate (Legislative)

Introduction

The 2009 Session of the Eighty-Sixth Legislature convened January 6, and the Senate was organized with the same leadership as the Eighty-Fifth Legislature.

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller (DFL), Minneapolis, continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator David H. Senjem (R), Rochester, continued as Minority Leader.

Senator James P. Metzen (DFL), South St. Paul, was re-elected President of the Senate.

The following two special elections were held November 4, 2008, to fill vacancies created by resignations:

Lisa A. Fobbe (DFL), Zimmerman, was elected in District 16 to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Senator Betsy Wergin. Senator Fobbe was sworn in on December 5, 2008.

Ken Kelash (DFL), Richfield, was elected in District 63 to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Senator Dan Larson. Senator Kelash was also sworn in on December 5, 2008.

The political makeup of the 2009 Senate was 46 DFLers and 21 Republicans.

Patrick E. Flahaven, the Secretary of the Senate since 1973, retired on January 5, 2009, after 38 years of dedicated service to the Minnesota Senate. Mr. Flahaven served with eight Senate Presidents and 294 members during his Senate career. On January 6, 2009, the Senate elected Peter S. Wattson, Secretary of the Senate (Legislative) and JoAnne M. Zoff, Secretary of the Senate (Administrative) to fulfill the duties of Secretary of the Senate.

The Eighty-Sixth Legislature will reconvene on February 4, 2010.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Ellen R. (DFL)* Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Betzold, Don (DFL) Bonoff, Terri (DFL) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chaudhary, Satveer (DFL) Clark, Tarryl L. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahle, Kevin L. (DFL) Day, Dick (R)** Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dille, Steve (R) Doll, John (DFL) Erickson Ropes, Sharon (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Fobbe, Lisa A. (DFL) Foley, Leo T. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (R) Gerlach, Chris (R) Gimse, Joseph R. (R) Hann, David (R) Higgins, Linda (DFL) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Johnson, Debbie J. (R) Jungbauer, Michael J. (R) Kelash, Ken (DFL) Koch, Amy T. (R) Koering, Paul E. (R) Kubly, Gary W. (DFL) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren (R) Lourey, Tony (DFL)

Lynch, Ann (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Michel, Geoff (R) Moua, Mee (DFL) Murphy, Steve (DFL) Olseen, Rick (DFL) Olson, Gen (R) Olson, Mary (DFL) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pariseau, Pat (R) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Prettner Solon, Yvonne (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Robling, Claire A. (R) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rummel, Sandy (DFL) Saltzman, Kathy (DFL) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scheid, Linda (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Skogen, Dan (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Vandeveer, Ray (R) Vickerman, Jim (DFL)

*DFL–Democratic-Farmer-Labor **R–Republican

Senate Leaders

Lawrence J. Pogemiller Tarryl L. Clark Ron Latz Kathy Saltzman Tom Saxhaug Kathy Sheran Dan Skogen Patricia Torres Ray

David H. Senjem Michelle L. Fischbach Chris Gerlach Joseph R. Gimse David Hann Amy T. Koch Geoff Michel Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip

Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

Minority Leader Deputy Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

James P. Metzen Petter S. Wattson JoAnne M. Zoff Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Kevin McDonough President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate (Legislative) Secretary of the Senate (Administrative) First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain