JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

EIGHTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE

2010

Published By The Secretary of the Senate (Legislative)

Introduction

The 2010 Session of the Eighty-Sixth Legislature convened February 4, with the same leadership elected in the 2009 session, and one newly elected Senator.

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller (DFL), Minneapolis, continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator David H. Senjem (R), Rochester, continued as Minority Leader.

Senator James P. Metzen (DFL), South St. Paul, continued as President of the Senate.

Senator Dick Day (R), Owatonna, resigned effective January 8, 2010, for private sector employment. Mike Parry (R), Waseca won a special election on January 26, 2010, to fill the vacancy in Senate District 26. Senator Parry was sworn in on February 4, 2010.

The political makeup of the 2010 Senate was 46 DFLers and 21 Republicans.

Nine Senators announced they would not seek reelection in 2010. They were Tarryl L. Clark (DFL), St. Cloud; Steve Dille (R), Dassel; Dennis R. Frederickson (R), New Ulm; Debbie J. Johnson (R), Ham Lake; Mee Moua (DFL), St. Paul; Steve Murphy (DFL), Red Wing; Pat Pariseau (R), Farmington; Yvonne Prettner Solon (DFL), Duluth and Jim Vickerman (DFL), Tracy.

The 2010 session of the Eighty-Sixth Legislature adjourned sine die at 11:59 p.m. Sunday, May 16. Governor Tim Pawlenty called a Special Session to convene at 12:01 a.m., Monday, May 17. In order to meet the statutory requirement of a legislative day, the Senate adjourned the first legislative day of the Special Session at 6:48 a.m., and reconvened the second legislative day at 7:30 a.m. on May 17. The Special Session adjourned sine die at 10:45 a.m., Monday, May 17, 2010.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Ellen R. (DFL)* Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Betzold, Don (DFL) Bonoff, Terri (DFL) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chaudhary, Satveer (DFL) Clark, Tarryl L. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahle, Kevin L. (DFL) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dille, Steve (R)** Doll, John (DFL) Erickson Ropes, Sharon (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Fobbe, Lisa A. (DFL) Foley, Leo T. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (R) Gerlach, Chris (R) Gimse, Joseph R. (R) Hann, David (R) Higgins, Linda (DFL) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Johnson, Debbie J. (R) Jungbauer, Michael J. (R) Kelash, Ken (DFL) Koch, Amy T. (R) Koering, Paul E. (R) Kubly, Gary W. (DFL) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren (R) Lourey, Tony (DFL) Lynch, Ann (DFL) *DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor **R--Republican

Marty, John (DFL) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Michel, Geoff (R) Moua, Mee (DFL) Murphy, Steve (DFL) Olseen, Rick (DFL) Olson, Gen (R) Olson, Mary (DFL) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pariseau, Pat (R) Parry, Mike (R) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Prettner Solon, Yvonne (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Robling, Claire A. (R) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rummel, Sandy (DFL) Saltzman, Kathy (DFL) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scheid, Linda (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Skogen, Dan (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Vandeveer, Ray (R) Vickerman, Jim (DFL) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Lawrence J. Pogemiller Tarryl L. Clark Ron Latz Kathy Saltzman Tom Saxhaug Kathy Sheran Dan Skogen Patricia Torres Ray David H. Senjem Michelle L. Fischbach Chris Gerlach Joseph R. Gimse Amy T. Koch Geoff Michel Julie A. Rosen Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Minority Leader Deputy Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

James P. Metzen Petter S. Wattson JoAnne M. Zoff Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Kevin McDonough President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate (Legislative) Secretary of the Senate (Administrative) First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain