## JOURNAL

#### **OF THE**

## SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

#### **EIGHTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE**

# 2011

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

### Introduction

The 2011 Session of the Eighty-Seventh Legislature convened January 4, and for the first time since 1972, was organized with a Republican majority. 24 new Senators (21 Republican and 3 DFL) were elected in the 2010 election, giving the Senate a political makeup of 37 Republicans and 30 DFL-ers.

Senator Amy T. Koch (R), Buffalo, was elected Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL), Cook, was elected Minority Leader.

Senator Michelle L. Fischbach (R), Paynesville, was elected President of the Senate.

It was the first time in the Senate's history that a woman was elected as Majority Leader and as President of the Senate.

Senator Ellen Anderson (DFL), St. Paul, resigned effective March 20, 2011, after being appointed to the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission by Governor Mark Dayton. Mary Jo McGuire (DFL), Falcon Heights, won a special election on April 12, 2011, to fill the vacancy in District 66. Senator McGuire was sworn in on April 18, 2011.

The 2011 session adjourned on Monday, May 23, without legislation being enacted to balance the state's budget and finance the operation of much of state government. Due to the lack of approved funding, most areas of state government were shutdown on July 1. A Special Session was called by Governor Dayton on July 19, after legislative leaders and the Governor reached an agreement to balance the state's budget. The Special Session lasted one day and legislation was enacted that balanced the state's budget and financed state government operations, ending the government shutdown.

Senator Linda Scheid (DFL), Brooklyn Park, passed away on June 15, 2011, after a long battle with cancer. A special election to fill the vacancy in District 46 has been called by Governor Dayton for October 18, 2011.

Senator Linda Berglin (DFL), Minneapolis, resigned effective August 15, 2011, to dedicate her time to employment with Hennepin County. A special election to fill the vacancy in District 61 has been called by Governor Dayton for October 18, 2011.

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller (DFL), Minneapolis, resigned effective November 7, 2011, after being appointed Director of the Office of Higher Education by Governor Dayton. A special election to fill the vacancy in District 59 has been called for January 10, 2012.

The Eighty-Seventh Legislature will reconvene on Tuesday, January 24, 2012.

### **Members of the Senate**

Anderson, Ellen R. (DFL)\* Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL) Benson, Michelle R. (R)\*\* Berglin, Linda (DFL) Bonoff, Terri E. (DFL) Brown, David M. (R) Carlson, John J. (R) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahms, Gary W. (R) Daley, Theodore J. "Ted" (R) DeKruif, Al (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Gerlach, Chris (R) Gimse, Joe (R) Goodwin, Barb J. (DFL) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hann, David W. (R) Harrington, John M. (DFL) Higgins, Linda (DFL) Hoffman, Gretchen M. (R) Howe, John Sterling (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (Ř) Jungbauer, Michael J. (R) Kelash, Kenneth S. (DFL) Koch, Amy T. (R) Kruse, Benjamin A. (R) Kubly, Gary W. (DFL) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL) Lillie, Ted H. (R) Limmer, Warren (R)

Lourey, Tony (DFL) Magnus, Doug (R) Marty, John (DFL) Metzen, James P. DFL) Michel, Geoff (R) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Nienow, Sean R. (R) Olson, Gen (R) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. DFL) Parry, Mike (R) Pederson. John C. (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Reinert, Roger J. (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Robling, Claire A. (R) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scheid, Linda (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Thompson, Dave A. (R) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Vandeveer, Ray (R) Wiger, Charles W. DFL) Wolf, Pam (R)

\*DFL–Democratic-Farmer-Labor \*\*R–Republican

#### **Senate Leaders**

Amy T. Koch Geoff Michel Chris Gerlach David W. Hann Doug Magnus David H. Senjem Dave A. Thompson

Thomas M. Bakk Terri E. Bonoff Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Majority Whip Assistant Majority Whip Assistant Majority Whip Assistant Majority Whip

Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

### **Officers of the Senate**

Michelle L. Fischbach Cal R. Ludeman Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. David Hennen President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain