## JOURNAL

#### **OF THE**

## SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

### **EIGHTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE**

# 2013

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

### Introduction

The 2013 Session of the Eighty-Eighth Legislature convened January 8 and was organized with a DFL majority. 23 new Senators (14 DFL and 9 Republican) were elected in the 2012 election, giving the Senate a political makeup of 39 DFL and 28 Republicans.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL-Cook) was elected Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator David W. Hann (R-Eden Prairie) was elected Minority Leader.

Senator Sandra L. Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) was elected President of the Senate.

During the 2012 and 2013 sessions, legislation was approved to provide funding for a major renovation of the State Capitol and for the construction of a new legislative office building north of the Capitol. The renovation began in the fall of 2012, with groundbreaking for the new office building scheduled for the spring of 2014.

Due to severe storms and flooding in June that caused major damage in counties throughout the state, Governor Dayton called a one-day special session for September 9, 2013, to pass a disaster relief appropriations bill.

The Eighty-Eighth Legislature will reconvene on Tuesday, February 25, 2014.

#### **Members of the Senate**

Anderson, Bruce D. (R)\* Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)\*\* Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bonoff, Terri E. (DFL) Brown, David M. (R) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Greg D. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahle, Kevin L. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eken, Kent (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goodwin, Barb J. (DFL) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hann, David W. (R) Hawj, Foung (DFL) Hayden, Jeff (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill G. (R) Jensen, Vicki (DFL) Johnson, Alice M. (DFL) Kent, Susan (DFL) Kiffmeyer, Mary (R) Koenen, Lyle (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren (R)

Lourey, Tony (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Nienow, Sean R. (R) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pederson, John C. (R) Petersen, Branden (R) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Reinert, Roger J. (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Ruud, Carrie (R) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scalze, Bev (DFL) Schmit, Matt (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Thompson, Dave A. (R) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

\*R–Republican \*\*DFL–Democratic-Farmer-Labor

#### **Senate Leaders**

Thomas M. Bakk Katie Sieben Jeff Hayden Chris A. Eaton Lyle Koenen

David W. Hann Michelle R. Benson Roger C. Chamberlain Bill G. Ingebrigtsen Warren Limmer Carla J. Nelson Dave A. Thompson Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip

Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

Minority Caucus Leader Assistant Minority Leader

### **Officers of the Senate**

Sandra L. Pappas JoAnne M. Zoff Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Dennis Morreim

President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain