JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

EIGHTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

2014

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The 2014 Session of the Eighty-Eighth Legislature convened February 25 with the same leadership elected in the 2013 session. The political makeup remained the same with 39 DFL and 28 Republican senators.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL-Cook) continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator David W. Hann (R-Eden Prairie) continued as Minority Leader.

Senator Sandra L. Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) continued as President of the Senate.

The Eighty-Eighth Legislature adjourned sine die on the 106th legislative day, Friday, May 16, 2014.

After the session adjourned, with the major renovation of the Capitol in full swing, many Capitol offices were relocated to other areas within the Capitol and to other buildings on the Capitol complex. Construction of the new legislative office building began in August 2014.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Bruce D. (R)* Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)** Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bonoff, Terri E. (DFL) Brown, David M. (R) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Greg D. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahle, Kevin L. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eken, Kent (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goodwin, Barb J. (DFL) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hann, David W. (R) Hawj, Foung (DFL) Hayden, Jeff (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Jensen, Vicki (DFL) Johnson, Alice M. (DFL) Kent, Susan (DFL) Kiffmeyer, Mary (R) Koenen, Lyle (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren (R)

*R–Republican **DFL–Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Senate Leaders

Thomas M. Bakk Katie Sieben Jeff Hayden Chris A. Eaton Lyle Koenen

David W. Hann Roger C. Chamberlain Gary H. Dahms Paul E. Gazelka Bill Ingebrigtsen Warren Limmer Carla J. Nelson

Lourey, Tony (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Nienow, Sean R. (R) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pederson, John C. (R) Petersen, Branden (R) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Reinert, Roger J. (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Ruud, Carrie (R) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scalze, Bev (DFL) Schmit, Matt (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Thompson, Dave A. (R) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL) Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip

Minority Caucus Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

Sandra L. Pappas JoAnne M. Zoff Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Dennis Morreim

President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain