## STATE OF MINNESOTA

# Journal of the Senate

NINETIETH LEGISLATURE

## SPECIAL SESSION

## FIRST DAY

St. Paul, Minnesota, Tuesday, May 23, 2017

The Senate met at 12:01 a.m. and was called to order by the President.

Prayer was offered by Senator Andrew Mathews.

The members of the Senate gave the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The Secretary called the roll by legislative district in numerical order as follows:

First District.	Mark Johnson
Second District	. Paul J. Utke
Third District	Thomas M. Bakk
Fourth District	. Kent Eken
Fifth District	. Justin D. Eichorn
Sixth District	. David J. Tomassoni
Seventh District.	. Erik Simonson
Eighth District	. Bill Ingebrigtsen
Ninth District	. Paul E. Gazelka
Tenth District	. Carrie Ruud
Eleventh District	. Tony Lourey
Twelfth District	. Torrey N. Westrom
Thirteenth District	. Michelle L. Fischbach
Fourteenth District	. Jerry Relph
Fifteenth District	. Andrew Mathews
Sixteenth District	Gary H. Dahms
Seventeenth District	. Andrew R. Lang
Eighteenth District	. Scott J. Newman
Nineteenth District	. Nick A. Frentz
Twentieth District	. Rich Draheim
Twenty-First District	. Michael P. Goggin
Twenty-Second District	. Bill Weber

Twenty-Third District.	Julie A. Rosen
Twenty-Fourth District.	John R. Jasinski
Twenty-Fifth District	David H. Senjem
Twenty-Sixth District.	Carla J. Nelson
Twenty-Seventh District	Dan Sparks
Twenty-Eighth District.	Jeremy R. Miller
Twenty-Ninth District	Bruce D. Anderson
Thirtieth District	Mary Kiffmeyer
Thirty-First District.	Michelle R. Benson
Thirty-Second District	Mark W. Koran
Thirty-Third District	David J. Osmek
Thirty-Fourth District	Warren Limmer
Thirty-Fifth District	Jim Abeler
Thirty-Sixth District	John A. Hoffman
Thirty-Seventh District	Jerry Newton
Thirty-Eighth District.	Roger C. Chamberlain
Thirty-Ninth District.	Karin Housley
Fortieth District.	Chris A. Eaton
Forty-First District	Carolyn Laine
Forty-Second District.	Jason Isaacson
Forty-Third District	Charles W. Wiger
Forty-Fourth District	Paul T. Anderson
Forty-Fifth District	Ann H. Rest
Forty-Sixth District.	Ron Latz
Forty-Seventh District.	Scott M. Jensen
Forty-Eighth District	Steve A. Cwodzinski
Forty-Ninth District	Melisa Franzen
Fiftieth District	Melissa H. Wiklund
Fifty-First District.	Jim Carlson
Fifty-Second District	Matt Klein
Fifty-Third District	
Fifty-Fourth District	Dan Schoen
Fifty-Fifth District	
Fifty-Sixth District	Dan D. Hall
Fifty-Seventh District.	Greg D. Clausen
Fifty-Eighth District	
Fifty-Ninth District	Bobby Joe Champion
Sixtieth District	
Sixty-First District	D. Scott Dibble

Sixty-Second District	Jeff Hayden
Sixty-Third District.	Patricia Torres Ray
Sixty-Fourth District.	Richard J. Cohen
Sixty-Fifth District	Sandra L. Pappas
Sixty-Sixth District	John Marty
Sixty-Seventh District	Foung Hawj

The President declared a quorum present.

#### STATE OF MINNESOTA PROCLAMATION FOR SPECIAL SESSION 2017

WHEREAS: The Ninetieth Legislature adjourned its 2017 regular session without enacting legislation essential to the health, well-being, and safety of the citizens of Minnesota; and

WHEREAS: The Minnesota Constitution allows the Governor to call a special session of the legislature on "extraordinary occasions;" and

WHEREAS: The unfinished matters of the Legislature include laws essential to balancing the state budget; and

WHEREAS: An extraordinary occasion, as envisioned by Article IV, Section 12 of the Minnesota Constitution is thereby created; and

WHEREAS: The people of Minnesota are best served by a prompt conclusion of legislative business and avoidance of government shutdown; and

WHEREAS: Elected leaders of the Legislature have agreed on an agenda and procedure to complete a special session in the shortest time possible.

NOW THEREFORE, I, Mark Dayton, Governor of Minnesota, do hereby summon you, members of the Legislature, to convene in Special Session on Tuesday, May 23, 2017, at 12:01 a.m. at the State Capitol in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Minnesota to be affixed at the State Capitol this 22nd day of May.

Sincerely, Mark Dayton, Governor

Sincerely, Steve Simon, Secretary of State

#### JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

#### **MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS**

#### Senators Gazelka and Bakk introduced --

**Senate Resolution No. 1:** A Senate resolution relating to organization and operation of the Senate during the Special Session.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate is organized under Minnesota Statutes, sections 3.073 and 3.103.

The Temporary Rules of the Senate for the 90th Legislature are the Rules for the Special Session, except that Rules 3.6, 5, and 9 are not operative other than as provided in this resolution.

The Committee on Rules and Administration is established in the same manner and with the same powers as in the 90th Legislature.

With respect to Rule 30, Reconsideration, a notice of intention to move for reconsideration is not in order, but a motion to reconsider may be made, and when made has priority over other business except a motion to adjourn.

Senator Gazelka moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 63 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson, B.	Eaton	Isaacson	Lourey	Schoen
Anderson, P.	Eichorn	Jasinski	Marty	Senjem
Bakk	Eken	Jensen	Mathews	Simonson
Benson	Fischbach	Johnson	Miller	Sparks
Carlson	Franzen	Kent	Nelson	Tomassoni
Chamberlain	Frentz	Kiffmeyer	Newman	Torres Ray
Clausen	Gazelka	Klein	Newton	Utke
Cohen	Goggin	Koran	Osmek	Weber
Cwodzinski	Hall	Laine	Pappas	Westrom
Dahms	Hawj	Lang	Relph	Wiger
Dibble	Hayden	Latz	Rest	Wiklund
Draheim	Hoffman	Limmer	Rosen	
Dziedzic	Housley	Little	Ruud	

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

#### Senators Gazelka and Bakk introduced --

**Senate Resolution No. 2:** A Senate resolution relating to notifying the House of Representatives and the Governor that the Senate is organized.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Secretary of the Senate shall notify the House of Representatives and the Governor that the Senate is now duly organized under the Minnesota Constitution and Minnesota Statutes.

1ST DAY]

Senator Gazelka moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

#### **MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS - CONTINUED**

Without objection, remaining on the Order of Business of Motions and Resolutions, the Senate reverted to the Order of Business of Messages From the House.

### **MESSAGES FROM THE HOUSE**

Madam President:

I have the honor to inform you that the House of Representatives of the State of Minnesota is now duly organized for the 2017 Special Session pursuant to law.

Patrick D. Murphy, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives

Transmitted May 23, 2017

#### ADJOURNMENT

Senator Gazelka moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 3:00 p.m., Tuesday, May 23, 2017. The motion prevailed.

Cal R. Ludeman, Secretary of the Senate