JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

NINETIETH LEGISLATURE

2017

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The 2017 Session of the Ninetieth Legislature convened January 3, and was organized with a Republican majority. 21 new Senators (12 Republican and 9 DFL) were elected in the 2016 election, giving the Senate a political makeup of 34 Republicans and 33 DFL.

Senator Paul E. Gazelka (R-Nisswa) was elected Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL-Cook) was elected Minority Leader.

Senator Michelle L. Fischbach (R-Paynesville) was elected President of the Senate.

With the major renovation of the Capitol building nearly complete, the Senate was able to convene in the Senate Chamber for the 2017 session. Remaining staff located in temporary workspaces across the Capitol complex were moved back into their respective offices in the State Capitol in January. A grand re-opening of the State Capitol was held August 11-13. During the three days, over 13,000 people toured the Capitol building, which included floor access to the Senate chamber.

The 2017 Session adjourned on Monday, May 22, without an agreement between the Legislature and the Governor to enact several major appropriation bills financing the operation of state government. Governor Mark Dayton called a Special Session to convene immediately at 12:01 a.m., Tuesday, May 23. After an agreement was reached, the Legislature passed the remaining appropriation bills and adjourned the Special Session on Thursday, May 25. The Governor signed the bills on May 30, however he line-item vetoed the appropriations funding the Legislature. In June, the Legislature filed a lawsuit in Ramsey County District Court seeking a declaration that the Governor's line-item vetoes violated Art. III, the Separation of Powers clause of the Minnesota Constitution. In July, the District Court held that the Governor improperly used his line-item veto authority in this case, and declared the vetoes unconstitutional and they were null and void.

The Governor appealed the decision to the Minnesota Supreme Court. On November 16, the Supreme Court issued their opinion and reversed in part, vacated in part, and remanded to the district court for entry of dismissal. They reversed the district court's ruling that the Governor's line-item vetoes violated Art. III by effectively abolishing the Legislature. In its analysis, they concluded that the Legislature has access to funding needed to exercise its constitutional duties until the regular session convenes by using the Legislative Coordinating Commission (LCC) carryover funds and portions of the LCC biennial appropriations. They refrained from deciding whether the line-item vetoes violated Article III by unconstitutionally coercing the Legislature. On November 16, the LCC adopted resolutions for the transfer of LCC funds to the Senate and the House of Representatives, allowing them to continue their operations.

The Ninetieth Legislature will reconvene on Tuesday, February 20, 2018.

Members of the Senate

Abeler, Jim (R)* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Anderson, Paul T. (R) Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)** Benson, Michelle R. (R) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Greg D. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Cwodzinski, Steve A. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Draheim, Rich (R)Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eichorn, Justin D. (R) Eken, Kent (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Frentz, Nick A. (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goggin, Michael P. (R) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hawi, Foung (DFL) Hayden, Jeff (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Isaacson, Jason (DFL) Jasinski, John R. (R) Jensen, Scott M. (R) Johnson, Mark (R) Kent, Susan (DFL) *R--Republican **DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Kiffmeyer, Mary (R) Klein. Matt (DFL) Koran, Mark W. (R) Laine, Carolyn (DFL) Lang, Andrew R. (R) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren, (R) Little, Matt (DFL) Lourey, Tony (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Mathews, Andrew (R) Miller, Jeremy (R) Nelson, Carla (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Newton, Jerry (DFL) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Relph, Jerry (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rudd, Carrie (R) Schoen, Dan (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Simonson, Erik (DFL) Sparks. Dan (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Utke, Paul J. (R) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL) Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Paul E. Gazelka Michelle R. Benson Jeremy R. Miller Gary H. Dahms Bill Ingebrigtsen Warren Limmer Eric R. Pratt Gary H. Dahms Eric R. Pratt Thomas M. Bakk Leff Havden

Jeff Hayden Susan Kent Carolyn Laine Ann H. Rest Kent Eken John A. Hoffman Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip

Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Minority Whip Minority Whip Minority Whip

Officers of the Senate

Michelle L. Fischbach Warren Limmer Cal R. Ludeman Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Pastor Mike Smith President of the Senate President Pro Tem Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain