JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

NINETIETH LEGISLATURE

2018

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The Ninetieth Legislature reconvened February 20, 2018, with the same leadership elected in the 2017 session.

Senator Paul E. Gazelka (R-Nisswa) continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL-Cook) continued as Minority Leader.

Senator Michelle L. Fischbach (R-Paynesville) continued as President of the Senate.

Senator Dan Schoen (DFL-St. Paul Park) resigned effective December 15, 2017. Karla Bigham (DFL-Cottage Grove) won a special election on February 12, 2018, to fill the vacancy in Senate District 54. She subscribed to the oath of office on February 20, 2018.

The political makeup of the 2018 Senate remained 34 Republican and 33 DFL senators.

U.S. Senator Al Franken resigned his Senate seat effective January 2, 2018. Governor Mark Dayton appointed Lieutenant Governor Tina Smith to fill the vacancy until a special election is held November 6, 2018, for the seat that will complete the term of Senator Franken. Pursuant to the Minnesota Constitution, Senator Michelle L. Fischbach, as the last elected presiding officer of the Senate, became Lieutenant Governor filling the vacancy in that office. Senator Fischbach did not immediately take the oath of office for Lieutenant Governor, serving in the Senate for the duration of the 2018 session. On May 25, 2018, Senator Fischbach resigned her Senate seat and subscribed to the oath of office of Lieutenant Governor. A special election will be held November 6, 2018, to fill the vacancy in Senate District 13.

The Ninetieth Legislature adjourned sine die on the 102nd legislative day, Sunday, May 20, 2018.

Members of the Senate

Abeler, Jim (R)* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Anderson, Paul T. (R) Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)** Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bigham, Karla (DFL) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Greg D. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Cwodzinski, Steve A. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Draheim, Rich (R) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eichorn, Justin D. (R) Eken, Kent (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Frentz, Nick A. (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goggin, Michael P. (R) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hawi, Foung (DFL) Hayden, Jeff (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Isaacson, Jason (DFL) Jasinski, John R. (R) Jensen, Scott M. (R) Johnson, Mark (R) *R--Republican **DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor Kent, Susan (DFL) Kiffmeyer, Mary (R) Klein, Matt (DFL) Koran, Mark W. (R) Laine, Carolyn (DFL) Lang, Andrew R. (R) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren, (R) Little, Matt (DFL) Lourey, Tony (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Mathews, Andrew (R) Miller, Jeremy (R) Nelson, Carla (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Newton, Jerry (DFL) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Relph, Jerry (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rudd, Carrie (R) Senjem, David H. (R) Simonson, Erik (DFL) Sparks. Dan (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Utke, Paul J. (R) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL) Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Paul E. Gazelka Michelle R. Benson Jeremy R. Miller Gary H. Dahms **Bill Ingebrigtsen** Warren Limmer Eric R. Pratt Gary H. Dahms Eric R. Pratt Thomas M. Bakk Jeff Havden Susan Kent Carolvn Laine Ann H. Rest Kent Eken John A. Hoffman

Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Minority Whip Minority Whip Minority Whip

Officers of the Senate

Michelle L. Fischbach Warren Limmer Cal R. Ludeman Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Pastor Mike Smith President of the Senate President Pro Tem Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain