SPECIAL SESSION

NINETEENTH DAY

St. Paul, Minnesota, Wednesday, July 7, 2021

The Senate met at 9:00 a.m. and was called to order by the presider, Senator Jasinski.

The members of the Senate paused for a moment of silent prayer and reflection.

The members of the Senate gave the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was called, and the following Senators were present:

Abeler	Dornink	Housley	Latz	Pratt
Anderson	Draheim	Howe	Limmer	Rarick
Bakk	Duckworth	Ingebrigtsen	Marty	Rest
Benson	Dziedzic	Isaacson	Mathews	Rosen
Bigham	Eaton	Jasinski	McEwen	Ruud
Carlson	Eichorn	Johnson	Miller	Senjem
Chamberlain	Eken	Johnson Stewart	Murphy	Torres Ray
Champion	Fateh	Kent	Nelson	Utke
Clausen	Frentz	Kiffmeyer	Newman	Weber
Coleman	Gazelka	Klein	Newton	Westrom
Cwodzinski	Goggin	Koran	Osmek	Wiger
Dahms	Hawj	Kunesh	Pappas	Wiklund
Dibble	Hoffman	Lang	Port	

Pursuant to Rule 14.1, the President announced the following members intend to vote under Rule 40.7: Abeler, Bakk, Carlson (California), Champion, Clausen, Coleman, Draheim, Duckworth, Dziedzic, Eaton, Eken, Fateh, Howe, Johnson, Klein, Lang, Latz, Mathews, McEwen, Miller, Nelson, Newton, Osmek, Rarick, Rosen, Torres Ray, Utke, Weber, and Wiklund.

The President declared a quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal, as printed and corrected, was approved.

MEMBERS EXCUSED

Senators Franzen, Putnam, and Tomassoni were excused from the Session of today.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS

The following bill was read the first time.

Senator Mathews introduced--

S.F. No. 71: A bill for an act relating to energy; requiring construction and operation of a natural gas combined cycle electric generation plant or idling of the existing plant; amending Laws 2017, chapter 5, section 1.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Senator Murphy moved that the name of Senator Port be added as a co-author to S.F. No. 67. The motion prevailed.

RECESS

Senator Gazelka moved that the Senate do now recess subject to the call of the President. The motion prevailed.

After a brief recess, the President called the Senate to order.

ADJOURNMENT

Senator Kent moved that the Senate do now adjourn the Special Session sine die.

The question was taken on the adoption of the motion.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 46 and nays 18, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Bakk	Draheim	Hawj	Marty	Rest
Benson	Duckworth	Hoffman	McEwen	Rosen
Bigham	Dziedzic	Ingebrigtsen	Miller	Senjem
Carlson	Eaton	Isaacson	Murphy	Torres Ray
Chamberlain	Eichorn	Jasinski	Newman	Wiger
Champion	Eken	Johnson Stewart	Newton	Wiklund
Clausen	Fateh	Kent	Pappas	
Cwodzinski	Frentz	Klein	Port	
Dahms	Gazelka	Kunesh	Pratt	
Dibble	Goggin	Latz	Rarick	

Pursuant to Rule 40, Senator Pratt cast the affirmative vote on behalf of the following Senators: Bakk, Draheim, Duckworth, Miller, Rarick, and Rosen.

Pursuant to Rule 40, Senator Frentz cast the affirmative vote on behalf of the following Senators: Carlson, Champion, Clausen, Dziedzic, Eaton, Eken, Fateh, Klein, Latz, McEwen, Newton, Torres Ray, and Wiklund.

Those who voted in the negative were:

Abeler	Housley	Koran	Nelson	Weber
Anderson	Howe	Lang	Osmek	Westrom
Coleman	Johnson	Limmer	Ruud	
Dornink	Kiffmeyer	Mathews	Utke	

19TH DAY]

Pursuant to Rule 40, Senator Pratt cast the negative vote on behalf of the following Senators: Abeler, Coleman, Howe, Johnson, Lang, Mathews, Nelson, Osmek, Utke, and Weber.

The motion prevailed. So the Senate adjourned the Special Session sine die.

Cal R. Ludeman, Secretary of the Senate

1292