JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

NINETY-THIRD LEGISLATURE

2024

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The Ninety-Third Legislature reconvened February 12, 2024, with one change in the caucus leadership of the Minnesota Senate.

Senator Erin P. Murphy (DFL-St. Paul) was named Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration, replacing Senator Kari Dziedzic.

Senator Mark T. Johnson (R-East Grand Forks) continued as Minority Leader.

Senator Bobby Joe Champion (DFL-Minneapolis) continued as President of the Senate.

The political makeup of the 2024 Senate remained 34 DFL and 33 Republican senators.

The Senate adjourned sine die on the 119th legislative day, Sunday, May 19, 2024. The House of Representatives adjourned sine die on the 120th legislative day, Monday, May 20, 2024.

Senator Kelly L. Morrison (DFL-Deephaven) resigned effective June 6, 2024, to run for the U.S. House of Representatives in the third congressional district. A special election to fill the vacancy in District 45 will be held during the general election on November 5, 2024.

Members of the Senate

Abeler, Jim (R)* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Bahr, Calvin K. (R) Boldon, Liz (DFL)** Carlson, Jim (DFL) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Coleman, Julia E. (R) Cwodzinski, Steve A. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dornink, Gene (R) Draheim, Rich (R)Drazkowski, Steve J. (R) Duckworth, Zach (R) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eichorn, Justin D. (R) Farnsworth, Robert D. (R) Fateh, Omar (DFL) Frentz, Nick A. (DFL) Green, Steve (R) Gruenhagen, Glenn H. (R) Gustafson, Heather (DFL) Hauschild, Grant (DFL) Hawj, Foung (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Howe, Jeff R. (R) Jasinski, John R. (R) Johnson, Mark T. (R) Klein, Matt D. (DFL) Koran, Mark W. (R) Kreun, Michael E. (R) Kunesh, Mary K. (DFL) Kupec, Robert J. (DFL) *R--Republican **DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Lang, Andrew R. (R) Latz, Ron (DFL) Lieske, Bill (R) Limmer, Warren, (R) Lucero, Eric (R) Mann, Alice (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Mathews, Andrew (R) Maye Quade, Erin K. (DFL) McEwen, Jennifer A. (DFL) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Mitchell, Nicole L. (DFL) Mohamed, Zaynab (DFL) Morrison, Kelly L. (DFL) Murphy, Erin P. (DFL) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Oumou Verbeten, Clare (DFL) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pha, Susan (DFL) Port, Lindsey (DFL) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Putnam, Aric (DFL) Rarick, Jason (R) Rasmusson, Jordan (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Seeberger, Judy (DFL) Utke, Paul J. (R) Weber, Bill (R) Wesenberg, Nathan (R) Westlin, Bonnie S. (DFL) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL) Xiong, Tou (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Erin P. Murphy Liz Boldon Nick A. Frentz Foung Hawj Mary K. Kunesh Kelly L. Morrison Clare Oumou Verbeten Mark T. Johnson Julia E. Coleman Zach Duckworth Justin D. Eichorn Karin Housley John R. Jasinski Bill Weber Majority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Deputy Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

Bobby Joe Champion Ann H. Rest Thomas S. Bottern Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Scott Radunzel Melissa G. Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Bryan Pierick Rev. Dr. DeWayne Davis President of the Senate President Pro Tem Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain